Cambridge ESOL

We encourage our EAL students to sit the CAMBRIDGE ESOL exams, and if you are new to Surbiton High School, you might like them explained, but first take this test to find your level of English:

There are 5 Cambridge Examinations that we teach here at school and they start with theā€¦

  • KET Key English Test for Lower Intermediate learners
    An elementary level exam, testing your ability to deal with basic written and spoken communications
  • PET Preliminary English Test for Intermediate learners
    An intermediate level exam, testing your ability to cope with everyday written and spoken communications
  • FCE First Certificate in English for Upper Intermediate learners
    An upper intermediate level exam – ideal if you can deal confidently with a range of written and spoken communications
  • CAE Certificate in Advanced English for Advanced learners
    An advanced exam – if you can communicate with confidence in English for work or study purposes, this is the exam for you.
  • CPE Certificate in Proficiency in English
    A very advanced level exam – perfect if you have achieved a high level of language skills and are able to function effectively in almost any English-speaking context.

These exams are the world’s leading range of certificates for learners of English. Each year, they are taken by over 2 million people, in 130 countries and are widely recognised for work and study purposes.

Click for further information about Cambridge Exams